Hello Again!

Sorry for not writing last week. It was a crazy time to say the least. I won’t go into details, but man… sometimes the rain falls… and sometimes it dumps on you. And last week was a big dumping. (I hope any of the She’s the Man fans got that one ;))
But this week has been great! A lot of learning and growth. Some more painful than others, but I can honestly say I’m back on my feet and changed for the better.
Some things I learned that I’d like to share…
No matter how tempting or attractive or easy it is, don’t live in your past. It’s in the past for a reason. I read the talk called “remember Lot’s wife” by Elder Holland and I highly suggest it for everyone. Wow. It was a needed reality check for this sister missionary 🙂 Some of my favorite quotes:
“The past is to be learned from, but not lived in. We look back to claim the embers from glowing experiences but not the ashes. And when we have learned what we need to learn and have brought wih us the best we have experienced, then we look ahead, we remember that FAITH IS ALWAYS POINTED TOWARD THE FUTURE.”
“God doesn’t care nearly as much about where you have been as He does about where you are, and with His help, where you are willing to go.”
Aren’t those just beautiful? That’s what I thought too.
Something else I learned is that the Lord’s way to heal is the best way. As a missionary, I was forced to heal from the past in the only way I can out here, by serving and forgetting about myself. And you know what? It sure works a lot faster than any other way. I’ll be the first to admit I’m an emotional person (I’m like all blue for those who know the color code) so I hold on to things for dear life. But now I have to let them go because I can’t serve the Lord and be wallowing in misery at the same time. It just doesn’t really work that great (I tried it for like two days). It’s just so painfully ironic because All God Wants is for us to Let It Go. Let Him take the pain so we DON’T have to. So I’m here to testify that it works. The Atonement is real. Jesus Christ knows what it feels like to have an “off day,” to feel like giving up, to want to just cry and punch a hole in the wall, to have a broken heart. It doesn’t matter how unique we think our situation is, He’s been there. And He didn’t just do it because it was on His chore list. He did it because He knows us and loves us and wants to live with us forever. Can you imagine? The most perfect person who ever lived on earth knows you? And not only that, He loves you even when you mess up or look like a hot mess. Because He sees what you can BECOME 🙂 isn’t that nice to know there’s someone who will never give up on you.
Scripture of the week:
Philippians 3:13-14 “This one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before. I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”
I know Christ lives. He is as real as we are, and He knows us. His Atonement works. I am proof of the miracle of healing He offers. I hope we all can experience that same healing, and not wait till “tomorrow” to do it. I love you all. Remember, Faith is always pointed toward the Future.
Sister Logan Packer
Leave a Reply

