What’s up this week…

Well this week was unexpected you could say. We had lessons planned and we wanted to get five new investigators. So what did we get? 0 lessons, 0 new investigators, and 9 whole Less Active lessons. What? Yep 🙂 we sure did that. Don’t ask me how or why, but the Lord wanted us to focus on some lost sheep this week, and we sure did. We found a lot of people that no body talks to anymore, or no body else can get inside except us. That happens a lot to us. I think that’s why we have Elders and Sisters in the same ward here (did I mention we have 8 missionaries in our ward? three elders, three sisters, and a senior couple). The Elders teach the people who are scared of us, we teach the people who are scared of them, and the senior couple visits everyone cause they’re awesome like that 🙂 Anyway… So we met a lot of very lonely people and filled them up with love, and set up weekly appointments because they need a LOT of love. Two of the men are super down about life because they feel like they’ve tried so hard, but nothing seems to go right. They both want to be married and have families. One of them struggles with addictions, a few of them actually. And the other’s weakness is laziness I think. So we give them assignments and follow up to keep them accountable. They give us looks like “really? three teenagers are here telling me what to do?” but secretly they like us 🙂 I just know it. We’re persistent, but we smile so much that they can’t really hate us. Not when we tell them how awesome they are and how much God loves them all the time. Unfortunetly, none of them came to church last sunday, which tells me just how much work they need to get back up. All we can do is keep inviting and loving, eventually they have to choose. I just hope it’s the right choice! 

One of the Elders in my ward is named Winston Young. He says he knows the Packers in Kirtland so pass the word along. He said Adam is great and I agree! What a great missionary he is! 
Scripture of the week: 
Romans 8:31 “If God be for us, who can be against us?” 
Quote of the week:
“Consult not your fears but your hopes and your dreams. Think not about your frustrations, but about your unfulfilled potential. Concern yourself not with what you tried and failed in, but with what it is still possible for you to do.” Pope John XXIII
This week I was reminded of how important repentance is. Everybody always talks about it… almost to a point where if we hear someone start to say it, we only listen half heartedly. But I’ve come to see it different than some gruesome thing that hurts and is embarrassing and awkward. Repentance means changing. Looking back I know I never want to be the girl I was five years ago, three years ago, or even right before I left for my mission. Not that I hated myself, but I can see now what I couldn’t. THings make sense that didn’t. I love my Savior like I never thought I could. I love PEOPLE like I didn’t think was humanly possible. All because of the Atonement that allows me to shed the old and replace it with something better. Sins only block us from that. And sometimes it IS painful to let them go because you feel like real repentance is holding onto them, punishing yourself as if it makes it better. Nothing is better until you give them up. I don’t want to ever be afraid or ashamed to repent, because that means I’m afraid to change. And what good does that do? You’re right, Nothing 🙂 
I love you all xx Sorry for the lengthiness.. I had more time today. Have a great week and remember God loves you. 
Sister Packer 
PS Most of my MTC district is in Brazil now. #hopefulmissionary 
haha
Leave a Reply

