General Conference

Hello again!
Wow. Has it really only been a week since Conference?? So much has happened. And I’ve learned so much as well.
First, I’d like to follow up on my last email. In Conference I learned a LOT about myself, about the gospel, and about faith. The things that stood out most to me, all pertained to my previous email about real testimonies and how the church is so small. I hope this isn’t confusing but I’m just going to write so bear with me…
Faith has changed for me. In Helamen 5? I think that’s where it is… Anyway he’s talking to his sons about faith in Jesus. How it’s the rock of our salvation. If I had my phone I’d look it up to make sure, but someone with tech freedom will have to do that for me. A man used this scripture in his Conference talk, and for the first time it really made sense. Faith in Jesus Christ is more than just a nice phrase. It’s an action, and it works. Faith is an action word, meaning when we have faith we act on it and hope for the best, trust in it even. So faith in Jesus Christ is like that too. It means we trust in Him. In His words and His actions. The things He did in the Bible (baptism, Holy Ghost, using the priesthood, teaching the higher law than just the 10 commandments) and following all He did with that faith. Faith in Him means that we believe He’s telling us the truth. He’s not lying to us when He says He is the only way to be happy. Faith in Him means that we give up anything that He wouldn’t do, that He wouldn’t be, because we trust that His way is better.
This means that no matter what, no matter if our whole family leaves the church, or an apostle falls away, it won’t matter to us. Our testimonies aren’t based on men. Our rock is the Savior, the only perfect person, the only one who we can be absolutely sure that He will never lead us wrong. I know now what I didn’t know four weeks ago, that I will never forsake this gospel, because my faith is in Christ, my Redeemer and my friend. I know He loves me. I can feel it everyday as I am better using the atonement in my life. He would never do anything that wouldn’t be in my best interest. Is there any other person we can be that sure about?
I also want to inform anyone who’s interested that I get my temporary re-assignment this Thursday since my visa has yet to come. But it will come, so I’m not worried. I just hope I go somewhere warm :] haha. I’ll try and get my new address on here sometime (once I know it) but email is a safe way to send things as always.  
The language is coming along. Slowly. But I have about a week 1/2 left and I’m determined to learn as much as possible before being sent out into the real world again.
I’d also like to say that I do know this work is real, and that it’s the right side to be on. Being here is great, but I can feel this fluttering excitement in me when I think about leaving the MTC. Out there where there are real souls who need the message I have. The good word that I’ve been blessed with my whole life, one that I will never be worthy to have, is the one I will share to all who will listen. And then some. I will never repay my debt to my God and my Savior, but I will not rest until I meet them again, because I know we will. That is what gets me through some days, imagining how it will be on that great day when I kneel at His feet and He knows ME, because I did everything to know HIM. What greater gift than to know you’ve done your best. As Paul said in the Bible “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith.” No wordly, temporal pleasure will EVER measure up.
I love you all, and I love the gospel of Jesus Christ. I pray for you all the time! Never forget it :] 
Love, Sister Logan Packer  
Leave a Reply

